'Alone' - Spoken Word

After checking in at my new hostel in Playa I got chatting to the receptionist, firstly to practice my Spanish, secondly to practice my Spanish Charm šŸ˜› I then went to the restaurant next door to eat, on her recommendation.. and for the first time on my trip.. I pulled out my new customized poetry book, which was an awesome Christmas gift from a close friend, to write something newā€¦ and this is what came out in the 5 minutes it took them to serve me my food (I was seriously surprised at how fast that came out!).

I donā€™t usually share my drafts or works in progressā€¦ but I think as I write on this tripā€¦ I will share with you as I go along.. Iā€™m just gonna post these as they come out without trying to edit them or make them ā€˜goodā€™.

This is just called ā€˜Aloneā€™ for nowā€¦



Alone

Itā€™s time now, to write.
Sat alone, in the night.
Exceptā€¦

Youā€™re never REALLY alone.
There really is no such thing.
Itā€™s just an idea,
A perception we choose,
And with this idea,
This chosen thought,
The feeling of loneliness it brings.

Yet.
I am Not Aloneā€¦ and nor are you.
Although I sit here,
With no others,
My family is all around me,
Every person a sister or brother,
A father or a mother,
A friend or a lover,
A new connection to discover,
An ancient history to uncover.

You seeā€¦
Weā€™ve all been here since the beginning of time.
Iā€™ve known you quite a whileā€¦
Even if weā€™ve never met.
It just means weā€™ve not re-connected,
In this lifetime yet.
But if I look into your eyes,
I see the sublime,
I see a friend I havenā€™t seenā€¦
For quite some time.

"I canā€™t remember when I saw you last!
But itā€™s so great to be reunited!!"

This is how I feel whenever I meet someone new.
Honestly though,
It doesnā€™t really matter if itā€™s trueā€¦

I meanā€¦ I KNOW that it is butā€¦
That isnā€™t everyoneā€™s view.
But that doesnā€™t matter.

If I treat you like family because I believe weā€™ve been family in lifetimes pastā€¦
Weā€™ll get on like best friends though weā€™ve only just met.
We'll have a blast,
We want it to lastā€¦

But never..
Forget.

To Me.
You ARE my Family.
Eternally,
Connected to me.
In this life
AND the next
And on forever more.
Itā€™s just you and me beautifulā€¦
Together we soar.


Above ^^ - My lovely customized A6 book cover for writing poetry while I am awayā€¦ A very thoughtful Christmas gift from my treasured friend and semi co-adventurer Harriet Berry ā¤ļø - Thank you!!